‘What shall I make?’ A fun book to read!

Standard

Image

I picked up a lovely book a couple of weeks ago. It’s called ‘What shall I make? (story by Nandini Nayar, illustrations by Proiti Roy). Somehow, when I first showed it to to my boys, they did not seem that interested in it…probably because i had also bought them tinkling anklets and a nesting doll at the same time. However, last evening we pulled it out as we were playing with some home-made play dough (you can check the recipe out in my earlier post).

The story is actually pretty simple and sweet…and imaginative. A little boy’s mum gives him a ball of dough while she is cooking and he plays with it, making all sorts of creatures…a snake, a mouse, a cat. Each page has lovely illustrations which not only complement the story but also show you how to make those animals yourself. Which is why i decided to read it while we played with dough ourselves.

This turned out to be loads of fun. For one, the twins related to it right away. They love hanging out in the kitchen and very often we give them a little ball of dough to play with when we are making chapatis/rotis.

They recognized all the animals in the book and were so excited when we made them with our dough as we read. The little dough mouse scurried all over their legs while loud miaos accompanied the cat. The lion chased me around the room with loud roars before being squeezed and rolled into a ball again….and again..and again! A little bit of dough, a little bit of imagination and we had such a blast!

Since we were using play dough, their ‘chapatis’ did not make it onto the pan, but i plan to have them roll out their own wheat flour chapatis this afternoon and read again with them. And hopefully that will get them excited about lunch too!

This is a lovely book that i relate to as well…because in addition to what it brings to the kids in the form of a story and illustrations, it also shows parents how easy and delightful it is to spend time with kids as we go through our daily chores. Kids love to imitate and mine also like to “help”. So we go to the market together (that again is a world of discoveries), sort veggies together, fold laundry too! And that is something the book brings for parents…this lovely realization that chores and family time need not be mundane or mutually exclusive…they can in fact be great opportunities to spend warm quality time together!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Masterchef 3 | myfourboysandme

Leave a Reply

