sickness, silliness, soup and sleep

Standard

ok…well in terms of the title, some of it is happening and some of it is what i am wishing for…esp the sleep bit. 

Spent a large part of last evening and almost all of this morning dealing with my sick (literally) twin toddler boys. Believe me when i say this, twins unwell at the same time, esp the almost 2 yr old variety, are not a fun phenomenon to be around. For one, all that goes down, comes up almost soon after at 10 times the velocity. This is followed by…”it’s on my toes! Oh no…on my shirt!”. It is inconsequential that the mother is splattered all over. And this is when the term double trouble develops a whole new meaning and dimension. Because they both need to be picked up, wiped, cleaned and cuddled at the same time. Also since this seems to be a viral bug of sorts, they are absolutely fine when they are not throwing up…so the only one wearing out is me! 

It’s tough to make a game out of it because i am too busy trying to make sure that one does not step into the other one’s creation before it can be cleaned. 

Anyway, decided to make the most of this situation, more for my sanity than anything else. After we were all cleaned up, we got a nice warm bubble bath going. The boys soaked in the tub and splashed around while I rinsed out their clothes and chanted “Om”. I find that the chanting gives me something to focus on and clear my head, it calms me and seems to calm the boys too. So i use it when i feel i need to get a little peace in the madness.  Fortunately the baby was chilling in his bouncer and not asking for attention! 

I let the boys pick their clothes and then i tried playing soft music to get them to sleep. Guess what? Not happening! So i gave up on that and we decided to sing a song that the boys like. It’s got “throwing up” too so it actually worked well for us this morning. It’s “I’m bringing home a baby bumblebee”. We usually do a finger play that accompanies the song  and the boys love enacting the ‘squishing up the bee” and licking up the bee” part. Today they were equally enthusiastic about “throwing up the baby bumblebee”. At least they found something to laugh about. 

The soup and the sleep are yet to happen. I am planning a light tomato, carrot and daal soup for them. Will add a little chicken stock to it and give it to them with a little bit of soft warm white rice. Soup for me is soul food and I think i need it although i am not the one throwing up. 

And then there is SLEEP. i need it for sure and i am sure it will do the boys a world of good too! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

