experimenting with different tools for art!

Standard

This morning was “painting morning” as my boys have started calling it. Most of our painting / art happens in the morning before the kids have their shower (for very obvious reasons). Here are 2 things we did differently – and which were definitely a new experience for all of us.

IMG_1012
My husband is sure to love one of them: Less messy! Our painting activities are usually pretty messy. we start out with little steel plates that have blobs of paint in them for the kids. The boys use brushes, sponges, fingers, palms, toes and whatever else they want to paint. However, a lot of paint is wasted and i also end up with palm prints and foot prints in the strangest of places all over the room. So, we tried something new: instead of a palette, i simply put little dots of paint onto the paper directly and let them take it from there. The kids saw the colors mix very differently from before and enjoyed swirling their brushes in the blobs of paint on the paper and trying to also go from one colored ‘dot’ to the next. This way, all the paint we took out got used and most of it stayed on the paper! Hooray!
IMG_1014

2. Experimenting with different tools: So, up until now we had painted with fingers, feet, brushes, sponges and used stampers (ready made) as well as potatoes or lady finger. Today, while the boys were coloring, one of them took his toy car over the paint blobs leading to streaks across the paper. I thought this was pretty cool and urged them to try other stuff. So we had different cars, the back of the brush, the felt pen cap and a lego block as tools to try out. The boys picked what was near them and caught their fancy and it was nice to see how different objects made different patterns or designs with the paints.

IMG_1010

This was very unplanned and impromptu – i think it will work beautifully with cars or trucks that have broader tyres with more defined treads.

IMG_1018

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

