a walk in the park..and then some

Standard

Yesterday was an interesting day for us. After painting and reading and lego and a much needed afternoon nap (believe it or not – all three kids slept), we went out to a park in our neighborhood. (it is a public garden – bmc maintained garden on pochkhanwala road,worli). This is a weekly haunt for the boys and me. It’s a nice change from the park in our apartment complex and it allows for new interactions and experiences. 

Yesterday however, we spent a lot of the time there on non-play stuff. While waiting for his turn on the slide nishant spotted a few carpenter ants scurrying about. So we forgot about the slide and followed the ants up to a tree. On observing them closely we discovered that there was a nest on the tree. It was interesting to watch the carpenter ants and because they were large and black we could easily follow their trajectory along the bark of the tree. Also, because the carpenter ants were large, we were able to appreciate their segmented bodies. “Look! ‘mungi’ bum!” (mungi is the word for ant in marathi). I counted the legs for them too.

We also discovered that the tree housed the regular small ants. We observed a line of ants carrying some food. The boys found long slender twigs under the “ant tree”. They enjoyed swinging them around and writing in the mud with them. They also figured out that they could poke holes in dry leaves with their twigs. 

And finally, they discovered that one set of steps leading to the slides had water collected on them from being washed a little earlier. All the other kids were being told to avoid them but mine went straight for the gorgeous messy fun they provided. They stamped on each step with gusto, guiding each other to and through the biggest puddles. 

Truly a delightful evening! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. Hey Gauri, seems like you guys had a blast at the park. Shreya and I missed all the fun 😦 Next time…
    Finally got around to your blog and went through most of the posts – truly inspiring! Every post has fun + learning value 🙂 Enjoyed reading them all + learnt something from each. Esp loved the one with the list of books!

Leave a Reply

