My little animals!

Standard

We had a fun time a little earlier this morning. I had bought the boys hairbands that had animal like ears (a giraffe and a monkey). They had not been particularly interested in the bands and we had put them away in the toy cupboard.

This morning Siddhant poured some water on the floor and then the boys decided to pretend they were swimming in it. Siddhant said he was an alligator in the water. Nishant decided to be a monkey and he started jumping in the puddle. (we have been reading a book called cheeky monkey which has both characters and also singing a song about monkeys and an alligator).

They both suddenly decided to take off their clothes and splash in the little puddle. By the now there were wet streaks across the room and in the passage too, made by the two little ‘animals’ swimming.  Suddenly Nishant went running to his cupboard and pulled out the two animal hairbands. They figured out how to put them on and had a blast running around pretending to be animals.

Pretend play seems to have suddenly started and it looks like this is going to be loads of fun! Am planning to keep aside a little pretend play box now. Here are some things i plan to put into it:

  1. a few old scarves or ‘dupattas’
  2. some caps/hats
  3. feathers
  4. masks
  5. sock puppets
  6. a couple of my old shirts/tshirts
  7. spare shaving brushes
  8. comb/brush
  9. bangles
  10. old syringes
  11. old plastic bottles – empty lotion or bath gel bottles
  12. mop cloths or rags
  13. a plastic broom
  14. plastic spectacles/glasses
  15. their kitchen set – cups, saucers, kettles ,etc
  16. their plastic fruits and veggies

will add to this list as i go along but this is a good set of things for me to start with.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

