Sidhhu’s turn now!

Standard

The boys are slowly getting independent. Every day they are ready to try out something new…on their own. A little while ago, i walked into their room and found them deeply engrossed in trying to wear their own underwear. They both are able to take off their shoes, pants and undies but so far have not tried putting them on (other than shoes).

I watched quietly from the door, not wanting to interrupt the activity in progress. Both boys were completely starkers. Siddhant was holding a pair of striped blue and white undies in his hand while Nishant was instructing him on how best to hold them. Next came the act of putting the legs into the underwear. Easier said than done. Siddhant could not balance on one leg long enough to put his foot through. He was holding the undies with both his hands so he could not hold anything else for support. Finally i stepped into the room and tried to help him with it. He let me do it and then promptly pulled the undies off again saying “siddhu turn now!”

He finally figured out that it was easier sitting down. With a little verbal guidance, he finally pulled his undies up and proceeded to put on his pants. Sure they were lopsided and strangely stretched way above his belly button but he looked so proud as he announced “all done!”. Nishant clapped spontaneously for his brother and then began Nishant’s turn at wearing his undies!

I guess it is easy for me to indulge in this process as i am a stay at home mom and usually have no place to get to in a hurry. i think kids need time to be able to do stuff at a time, pace and space where they are comfortable and rushing them along just to meet our needs probably interfered with some of this independent learning.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

