Birthday party – made at home

Standard

It is the era of fancy parties with themes and planners and entertainers. The time of fancy finger foods from around the globe and funky take home presents personalized and monogrammed for each child.  Cartoon characters and TV shows and movies form the party theme.

I wanted something different for the boys. Something that was more Us…the twins watch no TV at all and have not watched any movies. Last year we did the party around the Very Hungry Caterpillar because it was their fav book. This year we decided to go with a vehicle theme as the boys are totally into cars, trucks, dumpers and diggers! I love doing things at home, so we started out by designing an invite:

The boys chose the picture they liked…we reviewed various car/truck/bus/plane images. I decided to keep the food fairly simple because I wanted to make it at home. I made yummy chocolate cupcakes (recipe courtesy my cousin Binky – i think she got it from BBC recipes). I made about 55 cupcakes (there were about 20 kids including my twins). Am putting the recipe down for you. It is super easy and worked like a charm.

125 gm flour, 125 gm butter, 125 gm sugar (can replace 3 tbsp of flour with 3 tbsp of cocoa powder if you want chocolate cupcakes)

2 large eggs

2 tsp vanilla essence

2 tsp baking powder

No need for baking soda if you are not using cocoa. But if you use cocoa then take 1 tsp baking soda.

Cream the butter and sugar. Add the eggs one at a time and beat well. Add the vanilla essence and beat.

In another bowl combine the dry ingredients.

Add the dry ingredients to the egg, butter, sugar mixture and beat.

Preheat the oven to 160 degrees.

Line the cupcake trays with the cupcake liners and spoon the batter in. Bake for about 10 minutes or till inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let them cool. (This makes about 15 medium sized cupcakes)

For the chocolate glaze, i got a martha stewart recipe. Once again – unbelievably easy…and so deliciously decadent!

You need 170 gm (6 ounces) of dark chocolate (chopped into bits or you can use chocolate chips too. I used Morde dark chocolate) and 1 cup cream (i used Amul cream). Heat the cream in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Put the chopped chocolate bits into a bowl and pour the cream onto the chocolate and let it stand for 5 minutes. The chocolate melts right away. You then need to mix it well with a beater.

Then, just dip the cupcakes into the chocolate and let the excess drip off. Set it aside. The chocolate thickens as it cools. Add sprinkles on top for a bit of color.

Super yummy! All 55 were demolished by the 20 kids.  Oh, and i made little stars with cars drawn on them that i stuck onto a toothpick which i inserted into each cup cake. The kids were quite excited by that!

Image

Also made really simple mini pizzas. Served this with Orange Juice and some chips.

We used Akanksha art kits (www.akanksha.org) available at the Akanksha art shop in Worli, Mumbai.  So i had little wooden cars, peacocks and elephants on wheels that the kids painted at the party. They loved this and it was wonderful to see how focussed they were and how involved they got. We had some stunning art there! That also became the take home gift for the kids.

IMG_1159_2

I had music playing and lots and lots of balloons. The children kept themselves busy with the balloons and the art work and i did not need to do anything much to entertain them. The boys had a stunning birthday and i really enjoyed myself too!

IMG_1117

I felt involved, the kids were also part of the planning and in spite of it being a simple at home DIY affair all the children had a blast!

IMG_1109

I made really simple thank you cards for the kids:

IMG_1269

 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

