Mother’s intuition?!

Standard

We had a fairly eventful weekend. All of us were in Lonavala for the long weekend. There is this little lily pond there in one part of the garden that is full of muck with beautiful lotuses on top. Anyway, I was with one of the twins and we were inflating a large pool to chill out in. My dad, the nanny and the gardener were all there too and i thought i heard a very faint voice calling my name. Nobody else heard anything at all. In that split second, i was certain i had heard siddhant and for some reason i knew he was in trouble in the lily pond. So i rushed there and sure enough, the little fellow had fallen in and was struggling in the water.  He was gasping and panicky and submerged in mucky slimy water all the way upto  the bottom of his lips. I jumped across and pulled him out. He was gagging so i i held him in a way that would help him vomit out and not choke on it. He brought up a large mouthful of yucky water.  A warm bath and many cuddles later he was better though he did come down with high fever and vomiting later at night. 

That night, as i put my little boys to sleep, i could not believe how close i had come to losing a boy.  I am thankful for whatever or whomever may have ensured that i heard his tiny voice over the din of the pump and our chatter.  I have heard about mother’s intuition but this is one time when i realized how incredibly powerful it is! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

3 responses »

  1. OMG! poor baby and poor u 😦 I cant imagine what you must’ve gone through. Hope he’s much better now. I totally believe in mother’s intuition….

  2. that is so scary… .hope he is better now.You know almost always I too hear my little one crying over the din of loud tv and chatter and closed bedroom doors…. Maybe mothers are somehow tuned in to their kids..

Leave a Reply

