trying new foods

Standard

So far, i have not had too much of a problem with the twins and food. No real issues with textures or tastes. Which is not to say that they don’t fuss or that they eat well everyday…there are days and…there are days.

Anyway, we are now making a conscious effort to introduce  them to different foods and flavors. Indian – maharashtrian – food is something they are familiar with. They like fish and meat too. 

Yesterday we went to a restaurant for lunch and instead of ordering pasta or french fries for the boys we decided to let them have what we were having – chicken wings, bruschetta, pepper chicken and pizza. I was quite pleasantly surprised to see the boys take to the chicken wings. They went through a couple each before moving on to tackle the boneless pepper chicken with a fork. A little messy but nothing that a wet wipe couldn’t take care of. 

Day before, the other new thing they tried were wasabi peas. I was munching on some and Sid wanted to try one. He kept pestering me so i finally gave him what he wanted, totally expecting him to spit it out and leave me alone. But, au contraitre, he stuck his tongue out, made strange hissing sounds and then asked for more! 

Today they tried quesadillas with guacamole on the side…the guacamole ended up being the main course for them though! 

It’s fun to watch them try stuff and I am glad they are open to tasting and trying new stuff. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

