toilet training

Standard

A couple of months before baby number 3, we decided to start toilet training the twins. They were about 18 months old when we started and were communicating well. I started by buying two identical blue plastic potty seats. (identical before i wanted them to focus on the potty and not fight over who gets which color).

I came home with the potty seats in a bag and made them try and guess what was in there. This got them pretty excited and they were generally thrilled with their “new present” although they had absolutely no clue what it was.

Then it was time to tell them what is was for. I let them sit on, play with it in order to get comfortable. However, they did not want anything more than that. No potty in the potty.

I let it be for a couple of days. The potty was used for all kids of things…a parking space for cars, kicking around, dropping crayons into and laughing at the noise. It became a hat, a balancing toy and even a pail. But, no potty in the potty!

Enough was enough and i decided it was time for a little action. For the next week, i let my boys run around with nothing on under their tshirts…no undies, no diapers…nothing.  Every hour i took them to the potty seat and made hissing sounds. Still no luck.

So then i started taking them to the bathroom, near the drain and let them pee standing up. This seemed to work and they were pretty amused to see their pee come down. Of course this meant constantly washing and sanitizing the bathroom but at least we were making progress. This was day 3. However, pooping posed a problem and i also had some not so fun cleaning to do. So i also went and got a potty seat that fits on top of the regular toilet seat. This was exciting but a little scary for the twins because Sid kept thinking he would fall through and straight in.

We started reading a book called Happy in my Nappy. We talked about it and laughed about it. It helped that the potty in the illustrations was very similar to the ones i had bought for the boys.

By day 5 we were actually doing pretty well. The boys would run into the bathroom to do pee and started telling me when they had to poop. We had the occasional accident but in general things were going well. I would clap for them each time they went and they would clap for each other too.

Then….we hit a big speed bump!  Both the kids came down with a viral bug and loosies. So in the next 3 days we more or less undid the past week’s work and had to start all over again. But, this time round, it was easier and in a day or so it was a lot better. It was still more initiated by us and not the boys. I would take them to pee when the woke up, a little after they had milk, before a nap, before they went down.

A month later, they started initiating the going…this is when i finally felt like the toilet training was successful. Also, for some reason, they decided they now wanted to use the small blue potty seats and we were all set! It is funny to watch the two of them sitting side by side on their potties telling each other what was happening by the minute!

Our next step was sending them down to play without the diaper. Again, we had a few accidents because it takes a little time to take the elevator ad come up to use the bathroom but over time that improved too. Now, we have started taking them out short distances or to friend’s houses without diapers.

They are now 24 months old. They still wear diapers at night…any ideas on how to work on that part?

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

6 responses »

  1. I agree with Sangeetha, don’t give any fluids other than water throughout the night – no milk. Also, make sure they pee just before sleeping as well as immediately after waking up in morning. Once you find dry nappies you can switch them to pants.

  2. But you have to make them pee as soon as they wake up, or you won’t find dry diapers. And be forever thinking that they aren’t ready. Well, not forever, but, you know!

Leave a Reply

