music with the boys

Standard

All three boys enjoy music – i usually sing to them when they sleep and we always have music playing their room. Over the last couple of months i have started trying to get them to sing with me and the guitar. The boys also like to dance to the music on the guitar and occasionally sid bangs on his drum when we sing. I have a really nice book called Animal Piggyback songs which has a wonderful collection of songs.

Piggyback Songs are basically songs with familiar tunes and new words. So for example, this book has 6-7 fixed tunes like row row row your boat, farmer in the dell, frere jacques, down by the station, twinkle twinkle etc. and really nice simple animal songs to those tunes. The songs are largely on the pentatonic scale – mainly C, G, F, D, A. So you don’t have to be a pro at the guitar to do this. Also, the book is easy to read and made for people who cannot read musical notations. While i have only one of these, there are more by the same author: Jean Warren. 

I tell the boys the words before we start singing so they are familiar with them. They usually finish the sentences for me…not sing the whole line. Some of these songs have actions too so we can incorporate music with movement. for example, ‘animal hokey pokey‘ or animal movements like hopping like rabbit, slither like a snake. the boys enjoy this part.

i have noticed that nish likes to sing along while sid prefers to bang on the drum or shake his leg to the beat. in fact i recently showed the a video clip on fb of a friend’s son playing the tabla and sid loved it. and yesterday when we were listening to some classical hindustani music he was able to identify the sound of the tabla in it.

the music sessions are short…about 10 to 15 minutes each time but now the boys seem to want it regularly which is nice. i also let them play with bells and got them an anklet so it tinkles when they tap their feet. they have toy flutes (i put these away for now because they tried to bonk each other with them) and i let them try my harmonica from time to time. 

would love to hear suggestions on other stuff we can do together with music. we all love music and its fun to see the boys sing and be silly too! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

