Our little tragedy

Standard

This morning when we opened the apartment door Nish spotted a little caterpillar on the landing. It was tiny and slowly making its way on the fairly slipper tiles. “Like baby!” the boys said…true…it did look a little like our baby who is currently trying to move by lifting his bum and then propelling himself forward.  When it was time to close the door the boys did not want to say bye to the caterpillar…so i succumbed and fetched a plastic can (one that otherwise holds tennis balls). We made little holes in the lid and put some leaves inside it from the kitchen veggies. Then we carefully picked up the caterpillar on a leaf and dropped it inside. It seemed sluggish but was moving around a little bit. A couple of hours later, it died. The twins kept looking at it and telling me that it was not moving. “Sleeping?” one of them asked. Just as i was about to answer, the nanny came in and pronounced the caterpillar dead. Now the twins have no clue what dead means but they figured it was something bad and Nish got pretty upset and kept saying “capartillar mar gayi” (the caterpillar is dead) …”no mar gayi” (not dead).  He gently petted the plastic can and told me he was being careful and doing “pyari pyari” (giving love?) to the caterpillar inside.

Once the twins fell asleep, i got rid of the caterpillar. I guess they will ask me about it when they wake up and i am probably going to tell them it went away because i am really not sure if and how to get into the ‘dead’ bit quite so soon.

Any suggestions?

Also, i am not sure whether the caterpillar was going to die anyway or whether putting it into the can precipitated things. Anyone who has tried this with better luck? As a kid we had used a glass bottle and the caterpillar had eventually turned into a cocoon and a butterfly.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

4 responses »

  1. My son knows that when someone/ something goes to india from here then he will not see them for many many months. So anything that is potentially lost can be claimed to have gone to india, in our case……

    • 🙂 fortunately the boys have not yet asked me about it. they woke up to the smell of baking and came to put sprinkles on top of the cupcakes. now they are busy playing with friends.

Leave a Reply

