Finger plays with the kids and songs with actions

Standard

Finger plays are great to do with the kids. They can follow along if they are able to and it engages additional senses too. 

I use fingerplays with my youngest pretty often…and we use them in multiple languages. There are a few simple and sweet marathi songs with actions that my baby loves…and the twins used to enjoy as well till quite recently. One is called “ithe ithe bais re mora” (come and sit here peacock). It engages the child visually and also has the baby use his hands and fingers. There are a couple more in marathi too. A friend’s mother does one for them in tamil that has them in splits and i have often seen the twins trying it on their own. 

I also do the fairly common ones in english – twinkle twinkle little star, pat-a-cake, sing a song of sixpence, eensy-weensie spider. Eensy-weensie spider is an all time favorite and even the baby stares almost hypnotized when we do it. He laughs out loud when i do the spider movement with my fingers.

However, my boys absolutely love 4 songs that we do with actions and i recommend trying them out:

1. Wheels on the bus (hot fav)

2. 5 little ducks (went out one day, over the hill……)

3. I am bringing home a baby bumblebee (it is awesome to see them do this; we do the awesomely yucky version where the bee is squashed and licked and thrown up)

4. 5 little monkey (swinging from a tree)

If you want ideas on how to do some of these with your kids, you can check out songs by mr.mike on youtube or check out his website: http://tinyurl.com/mrmikefingerplays CRAFTS &CC

I personally prefer doing the finger plays myself in stead of having my kids see them on the comp. This is because i feel that minimal time in front of a screen is best at this point. So none of my boys watch any TV and comp time is restricted to a maximum of 10 minutes a day if at all.  So i often view the fingerplays online for ideas and then do them myself for the boys. 

Fingerplays are generally fun and make things more interactive and engaging for kids, including babies who are not yet able to talk. 

More ideas: If we are doing music together, then at times i use fingerplays and at other times i try to engage the kids to sing along or add to the rhythm with their maracas or tambourine or bells. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

