I want chips

Standard

Do you know that a 2 year old has the amazingly remarkable quality of being able to repeat the same thing ad nauseum for as long as it takes till he gets what he wants??? You can temporarily distract him by showing him dump trucks and diggers and excavators and double decker buses…but as soon as you stop for a breath, he starts once again like he had not stopped at all. He goes at this with single minded focus and a deep sense of purpose like his life depended on it…a quality you may never have guessed he possesses if you have ever watched him play with his blocks or crayons or puzzles.  Anyway, he does…and mine gave me a really great demo of it in the car while we were stuck in ridiculous mumbai traffic forever. he wanted chips…”i want chips….i want chips…i want chips…” A never ending monotone droned on in my ear while we spent 25 minutes traversing a road that should have taken 5…with no shops on it to pick up chips from.

Anyway, finally went to a mcdonalds and settled the issue by negotiating some chicken nuggets and fries instead. There was welcome silence while the twins demolished these and licked up the last drop of ketchup and barbecue sauce. “Nice!” my two year old announced. And then as we stepped out and started to walk to the car, he looked me in the eye, smiled and started once again “i want chips!”

(As an aside, i have to tell you that i had a very random experience at mcdonalds…i ordered some minute maid pulpy OJ for the boys because we don’t drink any aerated sodas. It was super diluted and almost tasted like water. Took it back to the counter (it is served in a flimsy plastic cup) and was told i needed to shake it. Really?  A plastic cup like that in a kid’s hand needed to be shaken? So i did just to give it a shot..not much difference. I pointed this out to the guy…i asked him if he wanted to try it for himself. And that’s when he told me that i needed to shake it for every sip!! Probably what one can call an action drink. Anyway, i let it drop – the matter, not the drink…and decided to sit down and watch the boys devour their nuggets.)

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

