To market to market to buy a fat fish

Standard

The twins love to tag along whenever we go shopping for groceries and supplies. They come with me every week to the supermarket and help me with stuff. it’s a great way for them to learn about different fruits, vegetables and grains…it’s natural and they are interested, so it works well. 

Last week as well as yesterday we also took them with us to the fish market. This was also quite a fun adventure for them. They both carried little bags with them (they initially wanted to lug their newly acquired travel suitcases) for the fish. We got there just as some fresh fish had arrived and they were so curious about everything. We had to pick them up so they could see how the fish was being laid out. Sid poked gingerly at a fish too. We showed them the eyes, the fins, the tail and the gills. They boys saw how the assistant cleaned the scales off the fish with a brush like thing. They saw big and small fish as well as prawns. Lots of questions as always…”hey kai ahey??” (what is this?)

We also saw lots of cats and kittens ad observed how they arched their backs and rubbed themselves against people’s legs as they walked past. Sid chose to skip this experience by quickly clambering onto my leg and having me pick him up. 

We even saw crows waiting slyly for a chance to grab some breakfast. The crows were sitting on the hanging light fixtures and causing them to swings about. We were lucky to spot a crow trying to collect twigs from a broom for its nest. 

We finished buying the fish and then got a boys a lollipop each before heading home. A fun and interesting morning for all of us! 

When my mom asked them what they did in the morning, they promptly replied that they went to the fish market to buy lollipops 🙂

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

