early intervention

Standard

I was watching my youngest baby this afternoon and marveling over how quickly he seems to be growing. I guess there is so much going on with the twins and the third baby that i often miss sitting back and just watching him grow like i did with the twins.

With those two, i was noting down every little detail – meals, intake, output, vomit, colic episode… especially because they were a little premature. One twin had a bit of stress during his delivery and had to be in the NICU for a couple of days. The other landed up with something  called malrotation with mid-gut volvulus on day 3 and had to undergo an emergency major surgery. He was in the NICU for a week before we were finally discharged. Both babies were tiny and i feel like the first couple of months i monitored them pretty closely.

I felt like one of the twins was hitting his milestones a little late and decided to visit a developmental pediatrician with the boys just to be sure/safe. We had our first visit at 2 months, then at 3 months and then once every 3 months for the first year. While one of the boys caught up to speed by the time they were 3 months old, the other had slight hypotonia of the torso. So around the time he was about 7 months old the pediatrician recommended that i start him on a little physiotherapy. I found that in about 2-3 months he was so much better …from not even being able to sit up, he started sitting, crawling (he only used to creep and slither till he was 9 moths old) and then moved on to standing and walking with support by 12 months of age. By 13 months he was all caught up, though we continued with physio till he was about 16 months of age.

I was glad to have caught this early on and worked on helping him…especially given that his twin was already doing a lot more stuff when we started with physio and i could see that my other boy wanted to join him but couldn’t.

I was also very particular about getting the kids’ hearing tested around 3 months.

It’s important to catch these things earty…because early intervention can have so much impact. A few of my friends who have kids with developmental delays of different types have also benefitted from early intervention. It not only helps the child physically and cognitively but also helps with his sense of self/ self esteem and helps the parents interact more constructively and with more understanding with the child.

For people in mumbai – i went to a non profit org called Ummeed that is the brain child of Dr. Vibha Krishnamurthi. (www.ummeed.org)

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

