horn ok please!

Standard

My home is full of cars…and buses and trucks…of all kinds…small ones, big ones, plastic ones and die cast one. there are pull back cars and pull along cars and push along cars and step on top of and take a toss cars…we have tractors and diggers and dump trucks and cement mixers…taxis and rickshaws and police cars and ambulances…and a whole lot of fire engines too!

So yeah…my home if full of cars. And they seem to grow in number every week. I am partly to blame for that..can never resist picking up a new something for the car collection. And then there are neighbors and friends and family who all know how car crazy my boys are. Not just the twins…the little 51/2 month old too…he has totally skipped rattles and play gyms and fuzzy toys and moved straight to the cars his brothers are obsessed with.

Storing the cars is not easy. I keep trying to think of what to do with them. So far i was using a couple of large plastic boxes (old washing machine powder boxes to be precise) for the slightly larger cars and the metal and cardboard single malt/whiskey containers that we had at home for the small die cast and plastic cars. That helped us segregate cars a little bit and the kids could walk around with a bunch f cars in a container if required.

I saw a couple of nice ideas on a blog today: http://mumusings.blogspot.in/

Really liked the idea of a multi-storey parking that is mentioned there and am going to try that for the boys room. Since we have multi-storey mechanized parking in our building the boys might get a kick out of having their own parking garage!

Oh, another fun thing we do while playing with the cars is create a terrain of sorts. This was inspired by a visit by my cousin last week. So we put a few toys on the floor and then put a stiff rug on top of them creating bumps for the cars to slide down.

Other than that, we pass cars to each other, race cars or drive them all over the place…under chairs (tunnels) over the arms of the sofa (bridge or sea-link), etc.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

