Safe spaces

Standard

We talk about safety all the time…i started to realize how important safety was when i became a mother.  I suddenly looked at the world very differently. I re-exaimed basic stuff like flooring, tables, windows, doors…

Anyway, took the kids to a park near my mum’s place (August Kranti Maidan). This is where i grew up playing and whenever we visit my mom i try to take the kids there. Now that they are a little older and a little bolder, they want to go on almost everything…small slides, big slides, jungle gyms, swings and see-saws. Never had a problem with this so far. In fact, i let them take small risks and i stand close enough to avert any major falls.  Today they wanted to try a small ‘rock climbing’ face that led up to a walkway to a slide. They went up with a little guidance and once they were at the top they started to run on the bridge to get to the top of the slide. They were about 12 – 15 feet high when i suddenly realized that one  entire side of the walkway was missing protective sides…in fact any sides. Where there ought to have been some toughened plastic there was basically nothing! There were older kids running at full speed and my heart was in my mouth till my boys came down the slide. I basically did not let them on that one again but i am absolutely totally appalled that there could even be a jungle gym that was so dangerous – where is the taxpayer money going???

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

