Lessons on the playground

Standard

It had finally stopped raining last evening…in fact the sun was out and it was a clear evening. I decided to take the boys out to the park near home. They had spent the afternoon fighting over the same toys and throwing tantrums and I was really tired of the noise and the chaos. Nothing like a few hours in the good old outdoors! 

Right outside the park, very strategically stationed, was the balloon man…not just balloons but a whole stand full of cheap plastic goodies like cars and trucks and rackets and balls and other bright toys that most kids seem to gravitate to. Cutting a long story short,  we finally entered park about 50 rupees lighter but with he additional baggage of a pair of rackets and an ambulance. 
Nish was walking around the playground holding his new ambulance in his hands and taking it along on the swings and slides. Another little boy started following him around and tried grabbing it from him. Nish protested and held his ambulance tight and moved away. The little boy burst into tears and his mother tried distracting him. I took Nish to another jungle gym but the little fellow was looking quite disturbed. “Where is the boy gone?” he asked. He looked around, located the boy and gave him the ambulance.
i really wasn’t expecting him to do that and I was really moved to see this empathy and ability to share without me asking him to. 
Then, a little later, Sid did something similar. He was on the swing and he saw a girl come and wait for her turn. He looked at her and said Didi turn and promptly got off.
i am so glad we got YouTube for a bit. I was able to appreciate the boys better! 
 
About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

