why waste art work?

Standard

We do a lot of ‘art’ at home. Crayons, scribblings, painting and markers…it’s almost like the boys need a daily fix of a splash of colour. And sometimes it is just random playing with paint while at other times they are busy making ‘dumpers and diggers and cement mixers’. They tell me they are making cards and sometimes making important and beautiful paintings. I dutifully hang these works of art to dry and then put them away into a plastic folder. Some of them look truly stunning, while others are bright blobs of color. 

In any case, i try as far as possible to further recycle these. (i say further recycle because we only use one sided paper or old newspaper to paint on). here are some of the ways we use the art work:

1. Fold the paper and make a simple card. I then use bold markers to write happy birthday or whatever

2. Cut shapes from the art work and paste it on plain paper to make a card or a note ( i used thses as thank you notes for the kids’ bitrthday party)

3. Cut small squares or rectangles to make gift tags

4. use the painted newspapers as gift wrapping paper

5. Stick large pieces of art on a plain newspaper wrapped gift to dress it up

6. placemats that the boys use at meal times

7. book marks that i laminate to give as gifts

8. i have frames some of the art to give as presents to immediate family and very close friends. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. Great ideas! They do hate when you have to get rid of any of their art. You mentioned it as number 8, but in addition you can also just mail a picture to friends and relatives; no necessarily framed or anything, just as a ‘thinking of you’ gift. Grandparents especially are usually thrilled with that!

Leave a Reply

