An evening spent looking at waves and clouds

Standard

So many times i find myself trying to think of stuff for the kids to do and they just as often help me realize that they really can manage to find stuff on their own anyway…today was just another one of those days. we went for a ‘long drive’ (any drive is now called a long drive and i am not in a hurry to change that concept) to the sea face. walking along the promenade, nish pointed excitedly to a large grey cloud that was moving right above us…”look a nimbus cloud!” Sid promptly looked up and said “No, elephant!”. That was the take off point for the conversation between the twins “The elephant is moving…it’s coming here!” . For the first time, all on their own, without any guided pointing by me, the boys discovered that clouds have shapes that can remind them of other stuff.

Image

The next thing to catch their eyes were the big splashing waves as they crashed into the breakers before bursting into a shower of beads. “Oooohh! Beautiful” was their natural reaction. The two of them stood on the promenade with the breeze in their hair and admired the waves for a really long time. At every wave they exclaimed and laughed aloud and passers by stopped to try and figure out what they were so fascinated by. 

Ended the evening by going to the beach near Shivaji Park. It was high tidae and the waves were all the way up to the end of the beach. Got our feet wet. Nish decided it was ‘too dirty’ while Sid wanted to stay and watch the sunset. They both saw the beach littered with corn cobs and random stuff and asked when it would be time to clean up. I wish i could answer that one …but we did our bit by throwing some trash into a bin before leaving.

At night when i put the boys to sleep, Sid turned to the little altar in our room and said Thank you bappa (God) for the beach and the water. Sometimes i want to squash them so hard! it’s days and moments like these that simply erase all the tantrums and defiance and the craziness of the day in an instant. 

Image

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

