cooking together

Standard

The twins are very interested in watching me cook..especially baking. They have been after me to try our new Kenwood oven and bake something for them. They decided they wanted cookies today and so i decided to try it out with their help. 

I got all the ingredients together on the dining table. Got the required bowls, plastic cup measures and my hand mixer all set. Then i pulled out the recipe which i read aloud first to the boys for what it was worth. I showed them the flour and had them smell the vanilla essence. Nish tasted a bit and declared that it was bitter. Each boy got to carry an egg from the fridge in the kitchen to the table. We practiced some of our ASL while we were doing this..so we did the signs for table, chair and fridge 🙂 It has been a while since we stopped using signs but now i am starting to use them again with my youngest one. 

I measured out the sugar and butter and then let the boys take turns at creaming it. Then we added the essence and the eggs. Once again they beat it well. Then we added the flour, baking soda and baking powder and i let them try to mix it in after which i finished up for them. Then they added some hazelnuts, a little oatmeal and some chocolate chips which also got mixed into the dough.  I had a bottle of sprinkles which i wanted them to put on top of the cookies but while i was busy putting stuff away, nearly half the bottle was generously poured straight into the cookie dough. “Look Aai, Nish helping!” I could not even get upset when he put it that way. 

The boys lost interest at this point and went off to their room while i put the cookies into the oven to bake. They emerged when they smelled the cookies almost done in the oven. They both had a fresh cookie and declared it delicious. 

In the evening they carried a whole bunch as a snack in their snackbox and gave it to their friends as well. 

It is fun to cook with the kid though it is messy and can get chaotic as well as slow. So far they have helped with cookies, tea and scrambled eggs. Sid is especially interested and wants to know how i am making something. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

