Who is fooling whom?

Standard

Every morning my husband and I sit and enjoy a nice cup of steaming hot chai (tea). It’s our time to just chat and catch up before the bustle of the day sets in. Anyway, over the last year it has become more of a family ritual with the twins joining in and sitting with us.

Earlier they would just watch and sign that it (the tea) is hot. Then the graduated to bringing their own pack of biscuits or cookies to the tea session and dipping it in. Our tea would get sweeter and thicker and at the bottom of the cup would be a thick mushy layer of what were once Parle G or Bourbon biscuits.

A few months ago they decided that they wanted their own cups of tea. I really did not think that was just a great idea but i did not want to dampen their spirits and so i asked the nanny to give them milk in their plastic tea set along with some Hersheys chocolate syrup to make it look brown (they usually have plain unsweetened milk). Every time they wanted their own tea, this is what they got. They would sit with us and sip on their ‘tea’ and dip biscuits in to their hearts content. I often felt a tiny (very tiny) twinge of guilt at how i was fooling them till last month when Nish and SId asked for their tea I told Nish to ask the nanny to give it to them. He loudly announced “Didi, please give me dudu (milk) with chocolate in naa!” 

The guilt disappeared almost instantly. It’s cute that they continue to play along and have their ‘tea’ with us although they have realized it’s not really tea anyway!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

