Out shopping with the kids

Standard

Today for the first time we decided to go out shopping with all three boys..by shopping i no longer mean groceries..this was their first proper ‘shopping’ outing. My husband’s parents are in town and wanted to pick up some silver jewelry and shirts as gifts. We drove to Colaba (which was a loooooong drive) and got into the silver store. As we walked in i remembered the proverbial bull in a china store and prayed for a miracle. I more or less got my miracle but it took a little work. While my husband and mother in law looked at the jewelry, i had the very interesting task of keeping the boys occupied. There were a lot of things in the displays – there were earrings, pendants, necklaces, rings, idols and other small silver items. So we started out playing i spy…once we had exhausted the silver horses and elephants and owls and ships we moved on to different colors. We looked for red stones and green and yellow and turquoise. Then we moved on to shapes..we had hearts and circles and triangles and flowers. 

We found a large Ganesha idol that kept us occupied for a bit too. 

Finally the boys reached the end of their patience and wanted to open their umbrellas inside the tiny shop. We decided to buy what we had identified and come back another time for more leisurely browsing.

Once we got out and crossed the street to get to the car, Sid announced that he was now ready for a snack. Got the boys toasted cheese sandwiches that they ate in the car before proceeding to the next halt – Fab India. Once again, my husband and his parents checked out the shirts, the baby was fast asleep with the nanny and me and the twins wandered about. This time we played a game where i would call out a color and they would have to find me a garment on display that was the same color. After that the boys spent a little time observing the mannequins and watching them wobble pushed. Finally we ended up at the bath and body section. I put little dots of tester cream on their hands and asked them to smell it and tell me what it was. They enjoyed this and i was amused to see Sid spread the lotion on his knees and legs before lifting his hands to his nose and taking a deep satisfied and appreciative breath. 

All in all this was a good trip and i think we can start taking them out more now than we currently do. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

  1. Nice! Reminds me of a game I created when mishtu was a baby. We’d be out dining, and she’ d get really antsy till the food arrived. So we’d take turms asking each other to spot random stuff, like the face on the ceiling 🙂 Havent had a chance to do it w Teets yet, I think she’s got ADD 🙂

Leave a Reply

