Healthy snacking

Standard

My two year old boys like most kids their age get quite snacky in the evening. I used to give them a cheese singe or banana chips or milkshake or nuts but i think they wanted more variety. So i recently tried giving them veggies with a yoghurt dip. The kids enjoyed it and came back for more. It’s really simple, makes eating veggies fun and is healthy too.

For the veggies i use carrots and cucumbers that i cut into sticks. I often make a beet salad by boiling the beet and if you leave the cucumber in the beet water for a bit the sticks get a nice pink color which my boys love. You can also try other veggies like brocoli if you like.

For the dip i use Amul masti dahi which is nice and thick and creay..i don’t need to hang it. If I cant get the Amul dahi (curds) then i hang the curds in a cheese cloth for a couple of hours.

Chop one small onion very finely. Take 1 tsp freshly finely chopped garlic (can use garlic paste), some chopped coriander, a green chilly cut into 2 big pieces (optional), 1 tbsp mustard. In a bowl take a spoon of olive oil and add the onion, garlic, chilly and a pinch of salt and sugar. Using the back of a spoon mix this well to get the flavors out. Then add the mustard and mix a little more. Add the dahi (curds) and mix it with a spoon. Do not blend it in with a mixer or blender as it might get too watery. If you dont like the texture of small bits of onion in the dip you can blend just the ingredients minus the curds and the chilly and then add the curds in. Chill for a bit.

(As a variation you can add chopped bell peppers or finely chopped dill as well)

I put this on a platter for them and they crunch away on the carrots and cucumbers quite happily.

The dip is also great with salted crackers and chips.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

