Another hungry caterpillar

Standard

For those who have read some of my earlier posts, you may recollect that we had a not so happy experiment with a caterpillar. To make a long story short, it died and i had some explaining to do to my twins who were just about 2 yrs old then. 

Anyway, day before yesterday, while we were sorting through the morning’s groceries we came upon a little green caterpillar that was comfortably nestled in the cauliflower leaves. Sid spotted it and yelled “look aai! another hungry caterpillar! The boys pounced upon the cauliflower as i said i silent prayer for the worm and its well being..the action ( the pouncing and maybe the prayer) resulted in the caterpillar being dislodged from the leaf and falling on the kitchen floor – still very alive and moving. 

At the boys’ insistence we decided to put it into a jar like before. Since i did not have an empty glass jar handy, we put it into a temporary container with cauliflower leaves and some methi leaves (fenugreek). We spent a decent amount of time just watching the caterpillar.

Image

Introduced the boys to the magnifying glass…this took some time since their natural reaction was to stick their eye almost into the glass smudging it and making it foggy with their breath. 

Image

Did some egg carton craft and made caterpillars (we had done this before so they knew what to do). I helped them with the pipe cleaners involved in the caterpillar legs. 

Image

Today is day 3. The caterpillar has been gently transferred into a glass jar. Let us wait and watch. I hope he makes it! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

5 responses »

  1. Love the egg carton idea! Must try with my nephew here. 🙂 Hope the caterpillar makes it. Does s/he have a name?

  2. Am so excited…went to look at the caterpillar jar after dinner and saw that the caterpillar had molted. It is now a shiny brown and the dry shriveled skin is lying on the side. Can’t wait for the boys to wake up and see this. And am thinking I will pull out Eric Carle’s Very Hungry Caterpillar to read to the boys in the morning. It was their favorite book at a point of time but looks like it is time to revisit old favorites!

      • they were super excited. We noticed that the caterpillar already looks a little bigger. It wiggled and performed for us too 🙂
        It was the first thing Nish wanted to see in the morning. day 4 and so far so good!
        Reading one more book about butterflies and metamorphosis with them now. And it was nice to see the discussion shift to the art we were doing when N painted his caterpillar and ladybug last morning.

Leave a Reply

