fun at a party

Standard

we were at a friend’s birthday party day before. The twins had been super excited about the party since the morning ..they had made cards, practiced singing loudly and had already started thinking about the birthday cake. 

When we got to the party they walked around looking at all the balloons and then settled down on a nice deep sofa like spectators to watch the party proceedings. Other kids came in and then the DJ started playing music. There was a games host who was getting all the kids to play games and do stuff along with the music. Everyone was listening to what he was saying, jumping and clapping and playing. My usually gregarious fellows were happy to recline and watch. I tried getting them to join in, thinking they would miss out on the fun but they were really not interested. They finally perked up when the snacks were being laid out. It was almost embarrassing to watch. As soon the the pani puri guy set up his stand, Sid made a beeline for him and kept asking him for puris. In the meanwhile., someone put down a large bowl of chips for the kids to eat after they were done with their games. My twins immediately took up strategic positions, one on either side of the bowl and began to stuff their faces. They were the only kids in the room who were eating…everyone else (except the babies) was busy playing or dancing. 

I tried once again to lure them to join me…and as if to satisfy my need for them to partake in the festivities, they came around for a few minutes and then moved back to the bowl of chips. 

I was a little annoyed thinking that they were missing out on all the fun and action of the birthday party when i saw their faces… they were so happy and enjoying themselves..maybe for them, the fun of a birthday party was the snacks?!  

Anyway, after having munched on chips and relished the pasta and cake they were all charged up and danced for a bit, chased balloons and then settled back down on the sofa with a bunch of books. 

They said they had a blast and they woke up last morning asking me when they had to make the next birthday card! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. Gauri! This is really funny. I am soo proud of them. Clearly didn’t lose focus and had their priorities from the very start. Absolutely love the way you write. Look forward to your posts each day.

Leave a Reply

