No strings attached

Standard

I try to refrain from corny titles to the posts but what can i say..it’s a habit i find hard to kick.  anyway, this is a very different type of string i am writing about…

Like i have said so many times before, kids only need their imagination to be able to have fun…sure fancy toys (like our ELC cooking set) add to the fun but they can manage perfectly well with random junk and non junk around the house and a good dose of imagination.

this morning my boys found a longish piece of plastic string that came as a part of packaging around a carton of groceries from the market. It’s a very ordinary greenish blue string of plastic with a couple of knots along its length form earlier use (yes the glorious and wonderful recycling tradition of India!)

anyway, they pulled and yanked it off the cardboard carton. First they made the most of the carton…Sid promptly climbed inside and tried to close the sides onto himself. Then Nish started pushing him slowly along the passage crying out loudly “Bhaaaji! Kaandaa! Batata!” (vegetables for sale! onions and potatoes). After some time of vegetable sales they tired of the carton like it did of them (i certainly don’t see it being used again as a carton) and shifted their attention to the string.

Sid took the string, waved it around wildly and said “Rhino!!!! run Nishu!! Rhino coming!”. With a loud shriek Nish scampered off..half running half bouncing in his excitement! The rhino metamorphosed into various animals…a panther, a tiger, a leopard and a rhino again…there may have been other roles it played but i was not running through the rooms after the boys so i cannot be sure. 

Finally exhausted they ‘parked’ the rhino by the table and moved onto flipping through a National Geographic magazine that they found. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

4 responses »

    • the third fellow is not to far behind..he does everything they are doing(at least he thinks he does)…so he swims in paint while they work on their brush strokes and he chases cars and balls around the room. he screams out when they are talking to make sure he is a part of the action!

Leave a Reply

