Art with ear buds and some veggies thrown in

Standard

I have to thank my friend Ruch for introducing me to art with Q-tips…Growing up with an ENT surgeon for a father, ear buds were totally banned at home and all i ever associated them with was ear wax and perforated ear drums…anyway, last year my friend and I painted some vehicles on the kids’ bedroom wall and used -tips to paint with.

Image

 

I decided to try it out with the boys and they really had a great time. I just poured out a little paint on a plate and gave them ear buds. I demonstrated how they could me dots using the bud and then drew cars / trucks for them to paint.

Nish got right into it, making multicolored spots and filling up his dump truck. Sid on the other hand, discovered that it could be used like a pen or a paintbrush and basically used it to make lines and squiggles on his paper. They also discovered that they could first paint broad flat strokes with a brush and then “write” on it with a Q-tip. 

Then we also used ‘tendli’ (coccinia) to print with. Nish announced that it could be used to make big dots with and so we did that for a bit till Sid ran away with all the tendli and started washing it. 

Baby Amu had his own plate of paint that i make from flour, salt, water and a bit of food color. He had a blast splashing his hands in the paint, banging the plate on the floor and then basically swimming in the paint. 

Image

THe stamping, dots and printing are all fun, can be non-messy (though ours sure was) and very easy to set up and manage. We looked at some art by Monet, Van Gogh and a picture by Seurat and i showed them how they used dots and dabs and small strokes to create their art. 

will add more pics in tomorrow of the art …it’s on my camera and i am feeling too lazy to get up and get it right now 🙂 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

