Easy Peasy Bread Pudding

Standard

I have been at mom’s place all of last week and with more people around the boys i have found more time to try out stuff in the kitchen.

we had a fondue night day before and mum picked up gorgeous but way too many crusty buns (brun pao). So we demolished some with some decadent gruyere fondue and some more with a little brie (which all three boys loved) and we still had a whole lot of bread left over.

Decided to would be ideal for making some bread pudding, but i did not have a good recipe. Anyway, stumbled upon a fairly simple one by Betty Crocker and it was so super yummy and easy to make that i absolutely had to share it.

Easy Peasy Bread Pudding 

You will need:

2 eggs

2 cups milk

6 cups bread (i made 1 inch squares and included the crusts)

1 tsp ground cinnamon or nutmeg (i used cinnamon)

1/4 cup butter or margarine (we used butter)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees 

Add the butter to the milk and heat the milk till the butter melts.

In a separate bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and cinnamon. Place the bread in an ungreas baking dish. Add the milk and raisins to the egg and sugar mixture and pour it over the bread and let it soak. 

Put into the over and bake for about 35-40 minutes or till the top browns and the delicious warm aroma of the pudding forces you to open the oven door and drool. 

Let it cool and bit and dig in! 

(next time i am going to try and grate some orange zest in and serve it with marmalade but it is simply yum even just the way it is)

Here is the link for the original recipe that i found online:

http://www.bettycrocker.com/recipes/old-fashioned-bread-pudding/790f3338-59c6-4312-a3c1-3e4d0cf6b101

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

