lazy sunday morning and some musings at the beach

Standard

we had such a lovely lazy and fun sunday yesterday. the boys enjoyed having their dad around and the four boys spent some good time together. 

Image

after the ritual of tea and biscuits (which, now with their tea and cooking set has become even more elaborate), my husband and the twins settled down on the floor to read the papers. They browsed through the news, identified a few faces that they have begun to recognize, drooled over the glossy full page car adverts and debated whether a photograph in the paper was a chicken roll as their dad said it was or a roti (which they decided it was). 

Image

Having gone through the supplements, they moved on to elaborate ‘cooking and eating’ while junior kept attacking their culinary efforts and hurled pots and pans while screeching most gleefully.  

Image

Sid watered the plants and admired how they were growing. 

ImageThe evening was spent at the beach again. None of us tire of the sand and the sea and yesterday being sunday there were balloons and pinwheels and lot of kids playing lots of games. 

Nish and dad wandered off to check out the fishing boats and Nish made friends with one of the fisherman, asking him a zillion questions about what he did. He sat on his boat, looked at all his dogs and chickens and was promised fresh crabs if he came by in the morning.  

I loved watching that interaction. It is important for me that the kids interact with the world and people around them…i am glad to see that they are curious and interested in what they come across…i am glad that they think that what the street cleaner and the garbage man and fisherman and the traffic policeman do is so cool and very important. I love it when they play with children from different backgrounds and move beyond the socio-economic bubble that they are in by default…because that is the truth…our socio-economic background more or less dictates where we can afford to buy and stay, where the kids can go to school or to play…and while that is a fairly large population, it is still a ‘bubble’ population and i really would like for my boys to move beyond that bubble of people and experiences.  Right now is just wonderful…there is no difference in how they interact with the liftman, the lady who collects our garbage or our neighbour’s son. I would love for it to stay that way. At two they are so open and accepting of difference…whether it is the color of someone’s skin, the kind of clothes they wear, the things they have, visible disabilities, physical looks and attributes…i hope they can hold on to this open unbiased approach that looks at people for who they are and not how they are. 

And i hope that me and people around them can take their cue and learn from them too. 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. They learn from what’s around them, hon, so knowing you as I do, it’s highly likely they’ll stay this way.
    How happy does their dad look—the famous smile seems even wider. 🙂

  2. They learn from what’s around them, hon, so knowing you as I do, it’s highly likely they’ll stay this way.
    How happy does their dad look—the famous smile seems even wider. 🙂

Leave a Reply

