sex education and gender changes made easy

Standard

Ok..don’t look at me funny… and urologists, plastic surgeons, endocrinologists and counsellors – don’t worry – we are not taking over your jobs! My sons have figured out simple solutions to everyday issues and this is just one of their suggestions to address a problem that was bothering them.

The twins have developed a curiosity about their privates and so a few months ago when Sid walked into my room holding his penis asking me what it’s called, i told him it was called a penis. best to call a spade a spade is my approach. The boys both went through a phase of playing with it, watching it with amazement and wonder when they realized they could use it to aim pee wherever they wanted to. (https://myfourboysandme.wordpress.com/2013/06/20/pissed-off/)

Then, recently, when i was in the shower, the twins barged in, pushing the door together. “Aai!” they called as they were still contemplating a forced entry. “Tu kai kartey?” (what are you doing?” “Having a bath” I replied. “Baghayache ahe!” (We want to see). Protests were futile and they barged in while i cursed the wooden doors that swell up in the monsoons and cannot be fully closed. Triumphant that they had managed to get in they stood and looked at me seeming to get a little worried in a bit. “Aai! Where is your penis???” I am sure a lot of mothers may have had this thrown at them. So i told them that i was a girl and that boys have a penis and girls don’t…after which i shoved them back out of the bathroom. 

The boys appeared to have forgotten our conversation..or so i thought, till, about an hour later, they came to me and Nish almost comfortingly told me not to worry about the penis. “We can go and get you one from Sahakari Bhandar” (our local grocery store/supermarket). 

That, my friends, is how simple it is…and Sahakari Bhandar – you are truly something else as far as my boys are concerned!!!!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

