Art in the bathroom

Standard

So, very different from the poop post…this is about another kind of art in the bathroom. I saw some nice foam animals for the bathroom at someone’s place a while ago and i recently figured it would be a good idea to get kids to do some creative craft during bath time. my boys (all three of them) love to hang out in the bathroom, either to splash in the tub or then to sit with cups and pails and transfer water from one to another. So when my cousin from philly asked if se could send something with another cousin who was coming down to India, i asked for foam sheets. i am pretty certain i can get them here too, just that i am not sure where and i have not had the chance to look around. Anyway, she sent me a stack with beautifully yummy colors…purple, lavender, pink, turquoise, sunshiny yellow and orange. A couple of evenings ago, while the boys were busy eating their dinner, i sat and cut up some basic shapes – squares, triangles, rectangles, circles, ovals and stars. I used only the purple because i wanted to see if it worked and also if the boys liked it. Using these shapes i made some cars and houses on the bathroom walls. Then i turned off the light and went back to the living room. As the boys entered the bathroom, i could hear squeals of delight and surprise. While they were exploring the foam art (it needed no explanations) i quickly cut more shapes from the blue foam sheet and gave it to them. 

All three boys played with the foam making all kinds of stuff on the walls of the bathroom. As long as the wall is wet, the foam sticks. It a no mess, easy to clean and clear and store kind of craft and they loved it. Baby Amu was super curious and kep climbing onto Sid’s back to get a better loot at what was happening! 

Image

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

4 responses »

  1. Lovely idea. Used up some foam sheets from our left over art work and got to work. P absolutely loved it. Thanks for the idea.

    By the way these sheets are available here in lovely colours. Let me know should you want them.

      • One store is in City light area – Mahavir – the guy stores all art stuff. The other is Lakshmi stores in matungs E – just below the bridge from the station. This one also has pre cut animal shapes

Leave a Reply

