The sweetest thing before i hit the sack

Standard

I was lying in bed between the twins before they fell asleep. Amu was already fast asleep. I had Sid on one side and Nish on the other and we were talking about our day. We spent the evening at a friend’s place. At one point, Sid said “i don’t like ____ uncle!” “Why?” i asked. “I am scared of him. But i like Swati aunty! and I like Anu aunty! To which Nish added from the other side “I like my Aai!” (aai = mother in marathi). Not to be left out, Sid promptly said “I also like my aai”. 

The spontaneity was just wonderful and almost left me teary eyed! 

I could not have ended my day on a better note!

 
About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

