Discovering the ancestral home

Standard

We spent the last five days in Baroda, the town where my husband’s family is from. We make our annual week- long trip there every year during Ganesh Puja. This was the twins’ third trip and Amu’s first.  This time, the boys were old enough to understand a little more about the festival and so for nearly two weeks before the trip, I told them the story of Lord Ganesh…poularly known as Ganpati Bappa.  So, this time, the festival meant a little more to them than just a bunch of celebrations and yummy food.  They were so excited to see all the big Ganesh idols being brought in by people for celebrations and it was a good time to reinforce the story of Ganesh for them.

With all the excitement around Ganesh, one of the first places that the twins rushed to on getting in was the altar or the puja room. They were excited to see all the silver puja stuff that had been taken out and polished. Immediately swinging into gear, they started playing with the silver plates and bowls and doing pretend pujas of a fairly elaborate nature.

Then came all sorts of discoveries around the house! In one of the bathrooms they found an old large brass pot and decided to use it like a bath tub. The twins took turns sitting in it while the other poured water and it was fun to watch the two play so well in the bath. Lots of turns and splashing later they emerged like two wet dogs and went streaking down the long hallways screaming “No David No! and Come Back David!” (which is taken from a book they like called No David)

The boys have been spending their days chasing butterflies, lying flat on the steps and looking at ants, playing hide and seek, crawling under all kinds of furniture, running up and down the stairs, discovering the strangest of places to park their cars and doing fervent and meticulous prayers in the puja room. They have been socializing with all the neighbors, taking bike rides and eating snacks wherever they get a chance to. They seem to have gotten over their fear for stray dogs and have finally understood what an ant bite feels like. 

They have discovered a wooden seat that is supposed to be put on an elephant’s back and have made it into their “home”. That is where they chill between their mad playing and running around.  I am glad to see them having such a blast. They are so happy running around and playing with each other that i only need to be a fly on the wall.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

