Loud festivals

Standard

Got back from Baroda yesterday and am spending a couple of days at mom’s place (no nanny and no help at all right now..everyone is away for the Ganpati festival). 

Anyway, was chilling with the boys when we heard the sound of music…day 5 and so it is visarjan time. I told the boys to go running to the balcony to check out the procession and then realized a minute later what a bad idea that was. There was super loud music and firecrackers loud enough to explode your eardrums…literally. Nish simply burst into tears with the sound and Sid covered both his ears as they ran as far into the house as possible to get away from all the noise. 

Ganpati time is a time to get together, celebrate community spirit and worship together. When did that translate so completely into big pandals, lewd bollywood music, loud noises, drinking and unnecessary display of fireworks. In a city that reaches permissible sound levels through traffic sounds alone, is there just no sanctity left in anything at all? Weddings, festivals, election propaganda…everything only makes sense when it is accompanied by something to shatter the eardrums and numb the senses???  

Anyway, the lesson that emerged from this for my boys was around sound…they figured you could reduce the intensity and sometimes block out sound by stuffing your fingers in your ears! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

  1. I so agree with you about the noise during Ganpati. My 2 year old was terrified of the sounds on Day1, but got so used to it by Day5, that he was dancing to some of the songs while playing. Do they really have a choice??!!!

Leave a Reply

