Fights, bites and tantrums at night

Standard

er…actually, the tantrums are in the morning but i could not resist the rhyme…

The last couple of weeks i am dealing with an onslaught of the terrible twos and an infant trying to keep up with the madness his twin brothers are indulging in.  While Nish has not been much trouble, Sid has suddenly started having the most terrible tantrums. They are largely reserved for the morning when he wakes up..he only wants me and does not even want anyone else to talk to him. This makes things rather difficult because amu wants to feed and cuddle when he gets up and nish wants his share of attention too (though he has been really understanding). If i try to put him down or give him to someone else, sid starts screaming and crying…unlike most tantrums i have seen, it is not a tantrum for something specific, there does not seem to be any trigger other than waking up (after a good night’s sleep). This is making mornings unusually difficult for all of us. i am hassled and unable to get stuff done, the other two boys are upset that i am only with sid, and short of either shutting myself in a room or keeping Sid out of my room while the others are in it, i see no option. I have tried ignoring him to see if it subsides but he is tenacious…

Amu has figured out how to throw tantrums too…now if i take something away from him that he wants, he pouts, sticks out his lip and puts his forehead down on the ground and bawls. And he has discovered that an easy way to get my attention in the morning madness is to crawl up to me and bite…now that he has four incisors he is a force to reckon with. 

School starts on monday and i am hoping this abates by then. I have been talking to Sid and trying to keep calm yet firm through this process…i assure you – it’s not easy. Let’s see how things go. Would love any thoughts or inputs! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

  1. It’ll be interesting to see how school adds to the mix. Just thinking out loud: he won’t associate his tantrums with being sent off to school, right? (Even though school is presently a novelty, that might wear off if there are other stress triggers).

    • been thinking of that too…fortunately we have been talking about school for a while now because i wanted them to be ready for it and excited about it. also, i figure it might be interesting to say that you cannot go to school if you throw tantrums … that way, he hopefully will not think he is being sent to school because of his inappropriate behavior. At this point, however, it is all speculation. school starts on monday and we shall see what it brings to our masala mix.

Leave a Reply

