looooong day

Standard

today was one of those days…had a rough night and woke up sleep deprived (more than everyday) with a bad headache. Sid and Nish picked today to be on their worst behavior ever…day started out with a painting project in the bathroom that rapidly moved from paper on a plastic sheet to the walls and taps and toilet seat. Add to that a faucet spewing water and two year old boys spraying and splashing the water everywhere – definitely not how you want to start the day. I snapped…yelled at the boys and then promptly ended up feeling terrible about it… Played with them for a bit, took them along to the fish market, did a few puzzles and then post lunch tried to lure them to sleep…the only eyes that seemed to close were mine. I lay in bed with my eyes closed hoping that the boys would join me but they continued to chatter away, talking about this that and the other as i kept dozing off. Suddenly i felt something wet on the bed and woke up with a start. One of them had wet the bed last night and  i had just put on clean sheets in the morning and i was hoping it wasn’t some more pee that i had put my foot on. That’s when i realized that Sid was happily pouring water onto the bed with the result that my cover, bed sheet and mattress were wet.  I was really mad and asked the boys to leave the room but of course they did not…they proceeded to empty the remaining water onto the floor and then squirt some lotion onto that with glee. I, obviously, found nothing funny about this whole do.

From there, they moved on to the grandfather clock – using a stool, Sid managed to climb up and open the front of the clock…and take off the pendulum. Nish was holding the plastic stool for his brother, but when he saw the look on my face he quickly absolved himself by declaring that he wasn’t doing anything, Sid was! 

I requested them to try and help me instead of creating messes for me to clean up…sid promptly obliged. he did potty in his portable seat, took it to the pot, and cleaned himself…needless to say, he left traces of his valiant effort in several places!

Finally at around 5 pm i decided it was probably best to let them burn up their remaining energy at the park. They had just taken out all my baking stuff and were making pretend cakes and real messes and it was probably best for all of us to get out and get some fresh air. They had a great time at the park…amu enjoyed the slides and the see-saw. We got home at 7.30 super tired and they boys ate their fish and rice without any complaints. Amu devoured his too and fell asleep on the floor while i was taking the twins to the bathroom for their shower. 

As i lay between the boys as they fell asleep, sid called out to me and asked me to come closer. i did and he leaned over and gave me a big kiss…i love you aai! he declared. Then he flung one leg over mine and held my hand near his cheek, dropping off to sleep almost instantly. Nish fell asleep a couple of minutes later, his fingers clutching a strand of my hair.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

