school day 3

Standard

Day 3 was much better than I anticipated. The kids woke up excited about school and a lot of the conversation in the car as they sat in their car seats on the way there was about what they were going to do in school today. Again, Sid went straight for the water – which was pink today (the older kids were learning the letter p) and had lots of bottles and cups to play with. Nish was delighted to find that the green car he had been eyeing for the past two days was not occupied and so he promptly hopped on and drove around the open outdoor space with a silly grin plastered on his face and making loud vroom sounds. Both boys tried their hand at some carpentry and painting. Today for the first time since monday, i found them playing together for some time as they both rode around in their cars. 

Absolutely no crying or clinging. Sid finished his sprouts and beans and most of his carrots. They were so engaged post snack time that they did not want to leave. They were the last 2 kids to get out of the classroom and waved loud cheerful goodbyes to the teachers.

I guess the acid test will be when we start the weaning process and i have to leave the space …it will be interesting to see how they cope without me here physically. 

Although so far the school is going well, one little fellow has been very traumatized. Baby Amu is so used to having the twins around and playing with them and following them around everywhere that he is absolutely miserable after we leave in the morning. He mopes and sulks and wants to constantly be picked up. His whole face lit up when we got home today and he could not get enough of his brothers! I hope he settles down soon too! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

