Boys can wear lipstick too

Standard

The conversations my twins have are quite hilarious sometimes. This evening as i was sitting and sipping on my tea, the two of them began (yet again) a detailed exploration of my dressing table drawers. They found something that had miracuously escaped their attention on earlier raids of this nature – a tube of lipstick. “What is this?” Sid asked Nish. Nish looked at it very intently and figured out that the top could be pulled off. It was an old lipstick and not really a shade i liked much (i hardly ever use make up in any case) so i did not flinch when Nish stuck a very curious finger down the tube and puled it out with a blob of pink on it. “Crayon nahi ahe” (it is not a crayon) he told Sid. “Aai what is this???” they yelled. It’s a lipstick…for my lips, i answered. “Lipstick ahe” Nish repeated. For the lips. “Aai put it on please” Sid requested. I refused and continued with my tea. “Is it like nailpaint??” Sid asked Nish. “No it is for the lips” he replied. Sid promptly declared that he wanted to try it out but Nish told him that it was for girls. “No!” said Sid, “it is not only for girls. It is for boys too”. He too put his index finger in and pulled it out with a blob of lipstick on the front. He first tried painting his nails with it and when i finally looked up from my book, i was horrified to see that he had it all over his face, including on his eyelids and lashes. 

I had to very carefully clean it off while he told me it was burning his eye…”what were you trying Sid?!” i asked him. “Aai, boys can wear liptick too right?” he asked. Yes they can…this little boy certainly was!

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a comment