Conversations at the dinner table

Standard

It is so funny to listen to the conversations the twins have nowadays. This evening at the dinner table they were both eating their soup and rice while i fed the baby his soup.  Correction…Nish was eating his while Sid was trying to see how far the soup and rice could splatter when he brought his spoon down with a bang.  Nish looked at him and said “No No!! Don’t do that. Finish your food please!” This obviously did not have much of an impact, so i finally cleared Sid’s plate and took it in. There was ice cream for dessert and I got Nish his share and some for the baby too. SId was not very happy with this and demanded his cup of ice cream. I told him firmly that he needed to finish his dinner before getting to the dessert. Sid very stubbornly refused to eat and kept chanting “give me ice cream! give me ice cream” Finally Nish looked at him and said – why don’t you eat your food please. Then you will get your ice cream. I am eating mine and after your rice you can eat yours!” Just to confirm that he was right, he checked with me whether I would give Sid ice cream if he ate his rice. Sid kept on asking for dessert and not touching his food. He took the ice cream spoon (wooden) and snapped it in two. Nish looked up most concerned. “Why did you do that? Now even if you eat your rice, how will you eat your ice-cream?” 

Seeing that his twin was not likely to eat his dinner and therefore miss out on the ice cream, Nish tried negotiating with me. “Aai, give him the ice cream naa!” Anyway, Sid finally realized he needed to eat his rice so he got down to it before claiming his well deserved share of vanilla ice cream! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

