Happy Birthday Aai!

Standard

The twins were so excited about my birthday yesterday … it was really endearing! They were up and about 6:30 both chirpy and full of beans. They sang Happy Birthday loudly and lustily and then cuddled with me for a bit…then they were all set to cut birthday cake! We had to explain to them that we were not going to cut cake that early in the morning and it would have to wait till the evening when my parents would join us for dinner. 

 

Baby amu crawled into bed too and joined the mad melee. The morning was fairly action packed. We went to the club for a swim followed by some time in the kids’ play area before devouring some yummy breakfast. While the boys ordered their standard dosa and orange juice i indulged in some delicious mushrooms on toast. Then we headed to theobromas and picked up not one but 2 cakes! 

 Through the day the boys broke into spontaneous bouts of happy birthday and promised me several times that they would paint me a card. (i am sure they meant to but they did not quite get down to it!) 

The highlight of their day was cutting the cake. They were so thrilled and excited about blowing out the candles and cutting the cakes!!! Dinner was delicious …mangsho luchhi, butter paneer, dal and rice!  A couple of years ago, i would have probably been out at a bar or digging into sushi a a nice restaurant…but this was so much better. Just the family…the boys full of good spirits..amu getting his first taste of cake and cheesecake! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

