sharing

Standard

I felt very proud of the twins today. while they may fight over the most inane things with each other, they are slowly learning to give and share with people around them. A couple of weeks ago we had taken 2 packets of biscuits with us to the park for the boys to have as a snack. While the boys were playing they landed up interacting with a little girl called Muskan and her two younger brothers. Muskan lives on a construction site with her siblings and parents and comes to play in the park when she can. I asked the boys to share their snack with her and her brothers because i did not feel it was ok for the boys to sit and eat in front of the other kids without sharing. Without much protest they did. A few days later we bumped into Muskan as we were getting into the park. She had her two younger brothers in tow (she is all of 7 i think). There were three eggs in her hand and she was heading to the construction site. “What is in your hand?” Sid asked her. (tumhare haat mein kya hai?). “raat ka khaana” she replied. (Dinner). Three eggs for the whole family. “Boiled egg khanar?” (are you going to eat boiled eggs?) asked Sid. “Bhurji and rice” (bhurji is like scrambled eggs). Later, on the way home Nish asked me why she was having bhurji for dinner when they had it for breakfast. I tried, as best as i could, to explain economic differences and the fact that some people could not really afford food. 

This was about 2 weeks ago. Today, we were going to the same garden to play.The boys decided they wanted popcorn and some gummi bears in their snack box. I gave them a couple of gummy bears each but Sid wanted the whole packet. I gave him a few more and he put them into the snack box announcing “I am gong to share with Muskan”. And he did 🙂

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

3 responses »

  1. Heyyyyy. I love reading your posts although they end up leavin me guilty as hell each time, cos you manage to do allll the things I want to with my five year old but neverrrr land doin, always having a good excuse to escape.
    You might not remember me but we met only once and tht too in a group when you were handling a session at the American School during the Akanksha workshop in 2010.
    Anyway, your boys seem to be darlings and you, jus the perfect mum to them.
    My son, Armaan, is also growing wonderfully, and teaching me more than he’s learning from me.
    Just like your little ones, he is always happier sharing than having things to himself. It’s the best way to grow, I think.
    Wishing yourfourboysandyou a very Happy Diwali!!!
    May all good things make their way into your home!!!

    • Hey Bhavi, Happy Diwali to you and your family too. lad you enjoy the blog…but don’t feel guilty! each one of us has our own way of connecting with our kids and doing stuff with them..this is mine! Also, I am a stay at home mom so I am not juggling work and kids which makes things so much easier! And like you said about Armaan – kids have so much to teach us..they help us discover sides to ourselves that we had forgotten about or not even known existed. I love this statue at bandra – it’s a mother holding a baby and reads: A child gives birth to a mother.

  2. You know, it’s almost a blessing to grow up in a place with such obvious socioeconomic disparities. Helps little ones learn empathy early on. Of course, a lot depends on personality types and parenting, but at least the lesson is readily available for the learning. I, for one, am immensely grateful to have grown up in India. There’s so much I never take for granted or feel entitled to because of it.

Leave a Reply

