A mad mad day

Standard

So, one of the things i am learning quickly as a mom of three boys, is how to prioritize…what is deemed a true emergency…and how to decide which screaming and wailing child to pick up first. 

We had a hands on learning opportunity yesterday. Nish is still wheezing (many thanks to all of you who refrained from using fire crackers and polluting the environment and perhaps made life a little less wheezy for my baby)…he wheezes and coughs and coughs and eventually ends up throwing up everything he has eaten. So we had a major throwing up session in the afternoon around 2 and Nish was super upset..for one he was throwing up, secondly it was all over his clothes and feet, thirdly it was all over my t-shirt as well and while he wanted me to pick him up he wasnt sure about dealing with my t-shirt. Just as i was taking his clothes off him to lead him to the bathroom, Sid decided to do a strange acrobatic feat on the bed post and ended up falling smack on his face with a very loud thud…followed by a VERY loud anguished wail. As i quickly got Nish into the shower and rushed to pick up Sid, i saw baby amu making rapid progress towards the puke site. Not top of the priority list i decided…at this point it was imperative to direct my attention to Sid on the floor. Picked him up, tossed a towel to Nish who continued to stand puke adorned and upset while amu was having a new and funky (albeit gross) tactile experience. Got some ice and applied it to Sid’s forehead while a lemon sized ugly bump began to develop on his forehead. Gave him some Arnica pills and calmed him down before picking Amu out of the mess and taking him into the bathroom with Nish. Washed the two, changed them, changed myself and called mom…with all three kids wailing at this point, i wanted someone else to help me at least determine of Sid was ok. 

He seemed fine and bounced back after an initial bout of crying, his forehead now embellished with a really large bump. Changed the sheets…

The evening proved to be even more eventful. Post dinner, Nish again had a coughing fit and proceeded to throw up on the freshly changed sheets. Got the poor baby all cleaned up and sorted (changed the sheets again), put all three boys to sleep and finally sat down to watch practice with the hubby…15 minutes into the program, i heard Sid calling out to me..he had just thrown up (yes – on the new sheets) and then was violently sick all over the room. Bump on the head followed by projectile vomit was reason for alarm. Also he fell asleep right after and simply refused to wake up. Nish was still wheezing and the baby was due to wake up for a feed. Called mom again (thank god we are in the same city). Left hubby with the kids and the nanny at home and went with mom to the hospital for a CT scan. Fortunately it was all okay and we came home an hour later, very tired but very relived. 

Today is another day…fortunately no accident, no falls and no vomiting….we in fact did a really fun painting session this morning using a chocolate paint we made at home…but that is another post which i will get to tomorrow.

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

