All things gingerbread

Standard

We have been reading a version of the Gingerbread Man and the kids love it. Especially where we sing “Run Run as fast as you can, you can’t catch me, I’m the Gingerbread Man!” 

Anyway, so i decided to take the story a step ahead and planned an art session around it. First of all, made a delicious paint using flour, cocoa powder, salt and water. I did not use any specific measurements…just added the water to the dry mix. Added some freshly ground cinnamon and nutmeg as well…and i kept the paint gooey and thick…cooked it for a bit and then transferred it into an empty bottle of Hershey’s syrup and let it chill in the fridge. 

On some stiff paper i drew large gingerbread men and gave the boys some bits of paper, pompoms and googly eyes to decorate if they felt like.  Out came the plastic sheet and all 3 boys plonked down with their papers.  They squirted the chocolate paint onto their papers and then went at it with fingers, toes, palms…and brushes too. The baby loves the cool squishy paint and smeared it around on the paper and himself. Sid was very into long firm brush strokes for the first gingerbread man and then a mad paint attack for the second. Nish on the other hand wanted to decorate his with eyes and a red nose and a smile…lots of pompoms as buttons! Three very different reactions to the materials and the possibilities.

Image

Image

Image

We then hung them out to dry at the window and the boys did not want to take a nap in the afternoon because they were worried the gingerbread men would dry and run away!

Image

Image

Which led to a fun new Gingerbread Man story for bedtime – our very own version called the Flying Gingerbread Man! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

One response »

Leave a Reply

