A looooong and worrying day

Standard

After our birthday party last evening the boys fell asleep tired out from all the fun and excitement…and so did we! The sleep was interrupted around 2.30 with Nish crying loudly saying his throat was hurting. I tried to give him some ayurvedic cough syrup which did not help…warm water which did not help…warm milk (promptly put back) which he threatened to throw up. He then complained of a earache too. Finally gave him some ibugesic around 3 am and he finally fell asleep (as did I) by 4 am. 

In the morning he was fine till about 10:30 when he developed a high fever and chills and again complained of throat and ear aches. Took him to the hospital where my dad looked at him and the pediatrician asked us to do a bunch of blood tests to rule out dengue and other stuff. This was super traumatic or the poor baby because they made me wait outside the room while they drew blood. They also put in a line for IV in case we needed to admit him (figured it was better to poke him just once instead of repeatedly). It was agonizing to wait outside the room while he kept crying and begging for me. I paced up and down to stop myself from barging into the room, till they were done and i could go get little Nish. He looked so sad and scared with a small bandage on one arm and a splint with the IV setup on the other hand. Filled out the necessary paperwork and headed home to wait for the reports on his test.

In the meanwhile, Sid was most anxious and worried and had gotten very cranky and clingy by the time we came home.  Nish kept refusing to eat or drink anything and we finally got him to have juice around 3pm. 

He seems to be better now. The reports are all negative (thank God!!!) He had another spike and we’ve given him paracetamol. I took the splint and IV line off in the evening. (vey slowly, gently and carefully). Hope he feels better tomorrow.

I plan to keep both twins home from school tomorrow. Sid seems to be a little under as well so may as well let the bug pass. Hope the baby doesn’t catch it because 3 unwell kids in the house is sure to lead to a very very tired mom! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

