Birthday pARTy!

Standard

Amu turned one today…cannot believe how quickly the year has sped by…literally seems like a few months ago that i delivered him…my little zen baby! 

zen no longer of course – he is quite a handful now! But a bright and cheerful handful…so i am not complaining.

Image

Anyway, wanted to do something special for his bday…not the usual bash or anything because i wanted to day to be about him…people he knows and likes, things he enjoys doing. so, we planned an art party. nothing major…just a small simple affair with six other kids who we invited (and 3 of my own of course). The day started out with opening presents and then amu had a fun bath with colored water, a lot of bath toys and foam to play with on the wall. Actually, our celebrations started last evening itself, with both sets of grandparents and a really fun dinner.

 

We had a cake shaped like a car…my first (and very rudimentary attempt at a shaped cake of any kind) and balloons and music!

 

Image

 

Anyway, then at lunch today our cook had prepared a fairly elaborate bengali feast for the birthday boy and all three boys had their meals in silver plated with silver spoons and bowls! it was all quite grand and the boys were delighted! We did a little prayer ceremony for the birthday boy too! 

For the party, the theme was art. I had picked up white tees for each kid and had painted their names on it. That became a smock for them. I also got canvases for the kids to paint and made jello playdough for the little ones. The twins and I painted on the windows using finger paints …so instead of a happy birthday banner we painted ‘happy birthday’ on the windows! It was so much fun and the twins loved having such a large and different surface to work on!!! 

Image

I also used all the kids’ art to decorate the place …so it was a little like a kiddie art gallery. And, there were tons of balloons! I baked chocolate cupcakes with colored frosting (sorry – no pics of the food…i was too busy to click), made rainbow pasta, quesadillas and served fruit juice to the kids. 

Image

Image

The art activities were awesome and the kids were very engaged. it was awesome to see 2 and 3 year olds focus so well on their painting. They spent a good chunk of time decorating their smock using fabric markers and fabric crayons. Then they put on their smocks and moved on to painting the canvas…we used acrylic for this.  Amu put his hands right into the paint and painted with his fingers on his canvas!

ImageImage

Image

Then it was time for balloons and music and i just the kids be…they chased balloons around the room, bounced them, burst them…did what they pleased. All the kids wanted to help cut the cakes and the rainbow pasta was a hit.

As a take home present, i filled a paper bag with their dried canvas, tshirt, and a ziploc bag full off foam shapes to play with in the bathroom. (i sat and cut up a whole bunch of foam sheets for this and made little packets for the kids). My kids absolutely love this and it is great for reinforcing shapes, creating things like cars and houses and buildings, colors, fine motor skills, creative thinking, etc. Hope the other kids like them too. 

Now, the kids have all fallen asleep…the house has been cleaned up (more or less) and i guess I should hit the sack too. Tired..but happy tired! Amu totally enjoyed his birthday and so did the twins…and since the other kids refused to leave the party for the longest time, i am hoping they had a good time too! 

 
About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

