A canvas for cars

Standard

Not sure if i posted this before…pardon me if i have. A few months ago i made a really cool canvas for the boys. Similar to the snakes and ladders board i had painted,..this time i took a 1 mtr long canvas and painted roads and buildings on it. And instead of actually painting the spaces i filled them in using earbuds and fabric paint…so it has a fun appearance and texture. I put in all the places the kids are familiar with…so Sahakari Bhandar (where we shop), the temple we visit on Sundays, the parks we go to, school, the mall, grandma’s house, the gas station, the fire brigade, etc. It is fairly simple. There are zebra crossings and a few traffic lights. The boys are having so much fun with it. They pull it out every time they take their cars out to play and they really seem to enjoy it. We sometimes put a cushion or a book under it to make slopes and make things more interesting. The twins play on it and have very detailed conversations about shopping and groceries, filling fuel, the traffic, police cars, etc. So, not only does it provide a map for the cars to be driven on, it also is great to promote imaginary play (a bonus that i had not quite anticipated when i made it). 

Image

Image

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

