More conversations with God

Standard

We have a little shrine / temple in the building compound. Whenever the boys play downstairs they like to make a halt there to see the idols and generally do a little prayer or ask a few questions about what they see. This evening we were downstairs with their trikes. After about 30 minutes of playing, they ended up at the little temple. This temple (it is literally about 4 feet high and 3 feet wide) has a little door with steel bars and can be locked. Today, it was. “Why is the door shut?” Sid asked. Nish my wise one with a fairly good memory replied..”The Gods are sleeping naa…so it is closed” (A priest at a nearby temple had proffered this explanation to a similar question a few months ago). “They are awake” argued Sid. (At this point i took a step back to allow the conversation to proceed without me influencing it in any way). “I think they are hungry. Shall we give them some milk?” Sid continued (i love how they have accepted and assimilated the plurality of the Gods). “No, let us cook something nice for them. We’ll cook it and bring it down in a bowl and give it. Then they can eat and they will be happy” said Nish. “What shall we make?” Sid asked, all ready to get started. Nish thought hard for a minute and then announced very excitedly “Maggi noodles!!!”

A rare treat for the boys since i avoid stuff like instant noodles and ready to eat food…they obviously decided that it was something very special to be reserved for big occasions or the Gods!!! 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

