Sunday Farmers’ Market

Standard

We had been meaning to visit the Farmers’ Market for quite a while now…Finally made a trip there on Sunday. We went to the Famers’ Market in Maharashtra Nature Park (MNP – near Sion/ BKC). Took the twins along – both dressed in overalls s Sid’s insistence (since all the pictures we have seen of farmers in our book they are in overalls). Anyway, so Sid picked out his “bungadees” (dungarees) and then of course Nish promptly got out of his shorts and insisted on a pair of bungadees too. Then, all armed with their caps and crocs we picked up our shopping bags and set out. 

The nature park is simply stunning! We fell in love with it instantly. There were SO MANY butterflies all around us and we also saw some spiders and a cricket! The market was already set up and in full swing and we helped ourselves to a couple of cane baskets and started picking out the fruits and vegetables. The kids, of course, exhausted their curiosity about the vegetables pretty fast and decided to explore the setup. They checked out the different stalls, found themselves a spot under a tree to play, went and tasted fresh butter and generally moved around. We kept an eye on them but they seemed happy to play with each other and just enjoy the fresh green space. I caught Sid crushing some coriander stalks and sniffing vigorously at them (he probably saw somebody doing that!). And then they found a trampoline to bounce on and a man singing accompanied by a dholak which mesmerized them. 

And as soon as we got into the car, they wanted to sink their teeth into some fresh produce…so we gave them a fruit that was a like a small green apple like fruit that the farmer told us was a taiwanese apple! 

All in all they had a lovely time…never underestimate the joy and wonder that the simplest of things can bring!

We are planning to make another trip soon…not for the farmers’ market but just to explore the park. And we will definitely go to the farmers’ market again and again and again! The produce is fresh, is is completely environment friendly in its setup, and the money goes straight to the farmers instead of into the already well lined pockets of prosperous middlemen!

 

About myfourboysandme

Mom - a word that defines me... I smell of oats, johnson's and home baked cookies I am pink, purple, green and orange and so is the floor my kids color on. Flour on my clothes and a brush in my pocket, my glasses bent out of shape and smudged with tiny fingerprints. I can't remember the date but i know almost 40 pictures books by heart. I wake up humming 'wheels on the bus'and i talk with my fingers and eyes and mouth. My bag carries band aids, napkins, wipes, crayons, papers, candy and sometimes my wallet. I know all the parks and very few of the restaurants in my neighborhood. Most of my shopping is diapers, books and paints My phd certificate lies in a roll, the frame now contains an abstract work of art by two year olds and i am prouder of that piece of paper. mom - a word that defines me!

Leave a Reply

